Caution: This is a Trashy Story

 


Short url to this post: http://wp.me/p4jGvr-Gb

By Dahni
© 2016, all rights reserved

Here in the country of The Gathering Place, we have 3 choices for trash removal:

1. Pay a service to p/u the gar-bahj. It’s garbage, but that’s how I say it. It sounds French, oui (yes) and quite educated, no? And they p/u your recyclables, for FREE. Why? They make money off of it! This leaves the returnable bottles/cans for a trip, to someplace else.

2. We could burn it and compost most, which we do a lot, but not all so, this still leaves #1 or #3 below.

3. Take it to a landfill. As it happens, we just happen to have one about 2 miles away, open 7 days a week. It ends up being cheaper than #1 and this is what we do.

Wasn’t that all sooooo interesting! 😃

Well, ALPCO landfill is, where we take our stuff (I mean me, it’s one of my official titles, Chief Trash Collector here at, The Gathering Place). 😃

image

ALPCO landfill, residential entrance

I collect and go, maybe around once every 2 weeks (We’re not really trashy people). 😃

Another reason I go to ALPCO, to distribute de debris is, I get to see and bother people! 😃

As you leave the road to enter the residential side of ALPCO, the entrance has a little booth between the coming in and the going out. A lady employee attends the booth and passes out clipboards with a form and collects it on the other side and any money owed when you exit, or pays you. Then, you drive around a large circle, with stops along the way.

First is, the recycle station for paper, some plastics and glass. An attendant gathers your stuff and checks off your sheet (no $’s earned or charged here). Why? Because they make money of my stuff from this stop.

Next is, the money stop, for all your cans and bottles, to get back your ‘bottle deposit’ money. They write your # of ‘returns’ on the form and you head to the next location.

And the last is, THEIR money stop, where you pay per pound, to dispose of your disposables or your household trash.

To leave ALPCO, you stop at the booth, at the front entrance and hand over your clipboard and form. The attendant adds and deducts, presents you with a bill, you pay it and then, you are on your way home or wherever. The trick is to get paid or at least, not have to pay them anything! This does NOT happen to me, too often. Apparently, y’all don’t come over enough and drink enough soda-pop and stuff.  😃

Well, the other day I made my regular run and stopped at the booth. When the lady opened the sliding window and while handing me the clipboard and form, I asked her for a skinny latte and a corn muffin. 😃

When I stopped at the first stop (recycle), a worker met me at the rear of my truck and I opened it. He asked what I was dropping off. “Nothing,” said I, “I want to p/u some cardboard, paper, plastic and glass!”  😃

Not having any ‘bottle deposit’ stuff, I drove to the last stop, garbage. I asked how much they would charge per pound, for me to buy about 50 lbs. of garbage? 😃

I am among ALPCO’s favorite customers, I’m pretty sure! 😃

It doesn’t cost anything to get a smile, but a limitless trash-bag of goofiness and your time. 😃

P.S. I really said these things, but I also dropped off and paid them for 30 lbs. of our trash 😃

Categories: Entertainment, Fun, Home, Laughter, Life, The Gathering Place, Trash | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

